Thank you Staley's!

Over the years, the Center has been blessed with an outpouring of support from the Flushing community. This could not be more evident than two recent acts of generosity from Staley’s Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning. With some recent building repairs needed, Staley’s donated their time, labor and equipment by replacing an air conditioner, furnace and kitchen vent fan free of charge! 


On behalf of the Flushing Area Senior Center Board & Staff, we thank you!

Soft Opening - June 15 - 19

On Monday, June 15th, the Flushing Area Senior Center will be holding a “soft opening”.  This will comply with current executive orders and safety standards with the hope of bringing back some degree of normalcy by gradually offering previous events/services.


During the week June 15-19, the following events and services are scheduled:

  • Monday - Friday               8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. - Updated Office Hours

  • Monday - Friday               11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. - Daily Take Home Meals Continue

  • Monday                           12:30 p.m. - Woodcarving **

  • Tuesday                          9:00 a.m. - Van to Bueches

  • Tuesday                          9:30 a.m. - Knit/Crochet/Craft **

  • Wednesday                      9:30 a.m. - Flushing Artist’s Network **

  • Thursday                         9:30 a.m. - Watercolor **

  • Friday                             9:30 a.m. - Fly Tying **


** Please call ahead to reserve your place as there is a maximum of eight participants, including the teacher.


Please Note:

  • We ask that all visitors enter/leave through the secured front entrance.  Being that we cannot exceed 10 people within the building, this allows staff to monitor and assure we are not exceeding the total.

  • All visitors are required to wear masks and maintain 6-feet social distancing while inside the facility.

  • Any/all indoor fitness activities have been postponed as per Executive Order 2020-110. 


We will continue to keep you apprised of any updates.  If you have any additional questions, please contact the office – (810)659-4735.

Daily Take Home Lunch

As a Senior Adult, you can enjoy a Daily Take Home Lunch that you can pick-up at the Flushing Area Senior Center. The Senior Take Home Meal may be picked up Monday thru Friday from 11:30am to 12:30pm. Reservations are required. Call the Center at 810.659.4735 by 1:00pm the weekday before to place your lunch reservation. 

Ages 60 and over: $3.00 suggested donation

Ages 50-59 and All Non-Genesee County Residents Age 50+ are required to pay $6.00

Senior Services We Offer


  • Transportation is available for seniors age 50 and over, living within the Flushing community.

  • Rides must be scheduled at least 1 day in advance.

  • Independant seniors may schedule a ride to a destination in the Flushing community or on one of the variety of preset destinations.

  • For a listing of the regular Transportation Schedule, visit the Transportation section of the monthly newsletter.

  • Rides are provided Monday - Friday beginning at 8:30am. 

Congregate Meal 

  • Monday - Friday the Congregate Meal is served at noon, in the Center's lunchroom.

  • The G.C.C.A.R.D. prepared meal is available for a suggested donation of $3.00 for Genesee County residents that are age 60 and over.

  • Non-Genesee County residents and those seniors that are age 59 and under are invited to attend at a cost of $6.00.


If you are interested in joining us for lunch, make your reservation at least 1 day in advance by calling the Main Office at (810) 659-4735.  Reservations must be made prior to 1:00pm the weekday before you want to join us for lunch.


      For a menu listing the entrees, see the

monthly newsletter. For the full menu for each day come in to the Center and pick one up from the front desk.

Information and Referral
  • Senior Housing

  • In-home Chore Services

  • Meals on Wheels

  • In-home Care Services

  • Veteran Services

  • Legal Assistance

  • Alzheimer's Support Group


Contact The Center at (810) 659-4735 to make an appointment with any of our service providers.

Our Story

Our Mission

The Flushing Area Senior Center began meeting as a group of senior citizens in 1966. They met regularly at Central Elementary School. The group continued to grow under the leadership of Clara Darby and adopted Articles of Corporation in 1977.


In 1979 through the cooperation of the City of Flushing and Flushing Charter Township, grant funds, through the Community Development Block Grant program, were secured in order to purchase and renovate the former Michigan Bell Telephone building, naming the facility the Clara Darby Building. In 1991, the former Duramold Company building adjacent to the Senior Center was purchased; becoming the Senior Center Annex

and Flushing Library.


The Senior Center is a Non-Profit 501(c)(3) and receives a majority of it's funding from the Genesee County Senior Service Millage. Funding is also provided by grants, donations, memorials and membership contributions.


All monetary gifts to the Flushing Area Senior Center are tax deductible.

Bi-Monthly Board of Director's Meetings

are held on the 4th Tuesday at 7:00 pm in the months of January, March, May, July, September and November.

Our Annual Membership Meeting is held on the 4th Tuesday in June at 2:00 pm.


The Flushing Area Senior Center is a focal point in the community where adults who have achieved the age of 50 come together for services and activities that reflect their experience and skills, respond to their diverse needs and interests, enhance their dignity, support their independence and encourage their involvement in and with the Center and the community.

Programs and Services are fully and/or partially funded with Genesee County Senior Millage dollars "Your tax dollars are at work"




Flushing Area Senior Center

106 Elm Street

Flushing, MI 48433


Phone: (810) 659-4735

Fax: (810) 659-4686



Flushing Area Senior Center site; Proudly created with



Monday, - Friday  8:00 am- 4:00 pm

Closed Saturday & Sunday




GREG MATHESON, Executive Director

KAREN HERRIMAN, Office Manager


Executive Board of Directors

Chairman - Michael Stanton

Co-Chair - Eileen Dunning

Treasurer - Pat DeMoss

Recording Secretary - Marie Zuk, City of Flushing

Michael Crockett, Clayton Township

Sharri Willette, Flushing Township

Gary Nickel     Mark Gellis   Sharon Vance

Rick Bigelow   Terry Pattillo

Richard Wagonlander